About Us

What is NAYGN?

North American Young Generation in Nuclear (NAYGN) is a 501(c)(6) non-profit organization which provides opportunities for a young generation of nuclear enthusiasts to develop strong leadership and professional skills, create lifelong connections, engage and inform the public, and inspire today’s nuclear technology professionals to meet the challenges of the 21st century.

NAYGN was established in 1999 and now consists of 100+ chapters across North America.

Check out our Who We Are YouTube video!



Developing leaders to energize the future of nuclear.

What NAYGN Does

NAYGN’s Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Commitment:

Diversity and inclusion are at the core of NAYGN’s mission and values. As an organization, we are committed to ensuring an equitable, authentic, and inclusive culture for our members and the nuclear industry. We will focus on growing our relationships with diverse groups while simultaneously building trust, growth, and creativity across all chapters. NAYGN will continue to learn about and celebrate our members’ differences to foster a positive environment. NAYGN actively seeks and welcomes the participation of underrepresented or marginalized groups including but not limited to: women, persons of color, members of the 2SLGBTQ+ community, persons of all ages, persons with disabilities, Indigenous peoples, and other communities.

Professional Development

Providing a forum for the professional development of our membership.

  • Annual Nuclear Energy Assembly
  • Regional Conferences
  • Webinars
  • Diversity and Inclusion development
  • Lunch & Learns
  • Facility Tours & Seminars

Public Information

Informing and engaging the public about nuclear science and technology.

  • Post Card Push Day
  • Millennial Nuclear Caucus Events
  • Nuclear Hill days: Ottawa,
    Toronto; Washington, DC
  • School visits & teacher workshops
  • Children’s books

Networking and Membership

Fostering closer professional and personal relations among our members.

  • Teamwork events
  • Sporting events
  • General members meetings

Knowledge Transfer and Retention

Participating in KTR activities to better the nuclear industry.

  • Mentoring between generations
  • Retaining talent in the nuclear industry

How can WE impact the nuclear industry?

NAYGN’s Mission is to develop leaders to energize the future of nuclear. We provide our members opportunities to focus their energy towards improving the nuclear industry and communicating with the public about the benefits of nuclear energy.

We don’t to this alone. NAYGN is a network spanning thousands of young nuclear professionals in North America, each doing their part to make our industry better. As a grassroots volunteer organization, NAYGN members decide and develop the content that NAYGN brings.

Want to get involved?


Basic Website Access

Access to News, Videos, and Events

Review Commitee Information

View Chapter Map


Inclusive of Non-Member Access

Take Action to Contact Federal Legislators

View Member-Only Events

Review Chapter Lists and Metrics

Access Detailed Committee Information

Find a Member

Get Involved in our Committees

Subscription to Member Only Newsletters

and much much more!!!

Board of Directors

Fueled by volunteers, the organization has dozens of continental committees and over a hundred local chapters facilitated by a Board of Directors affectionately known as The Core.

Each position is a two-year volunteer position and elected by the NAYGN membership except for the presidential positions.  A Board Director is elected to the Vice-President position and then serves a three-year term going from Vice-President, President, and then Past-President each year.

Matthew Mairinger


Christy Fletcher


Amanda Lang


Ce'Nedra Darragh

Professional Development Officer

Megan Lubbers

Public Information Officer

Ivey Wilson

Communications Officer

Lindsy Davis

US Operating Officer

Matthew Przybylowski

Canadian Operating Officer

Brian Holman


Sarah Davis

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer

Michael Smyth

Technology Officer

10k+ Members within North America

“NAYGN has been instrumental in helping me grow professionally and personally.  It is great to be a part of an organization of people that want to make a positive impact on the nuclear industry and on each other!”

Paul Balik

Communications Officer, NAYGN (2019 - 2021)

“I love talking to people about nuclear energy and NAYGN gives me the opportunity to reach new audiences! Through opportunities stemming from NAYGN, I have practiced my public speaking, presented on Capitol Hill, and been interviewed on a podcast.”

Amanda Lang

Public Information Officer, NAYGN (2018 - 2021)


NAYGN was established in 1999 by seven young professionals. These young professionals wanted to create an organization that provided professional development, public information, knowledge transfer, recruiting and networking opportunities for the next generation of nuclear leaders.

Fueled by volunteers, the organization has grown to include dozens of continental committees and over a hundred local chapters facilitated by a board of directors affectionately known as The Core. This structure allows the organization to be flexible and serve a wide variety of members. The organization has conducted hundreds of thousands of hours of activities to educate the public and provided development opportunities at the local, regional, national and continental level.


Paul Wilson

Paul Wilson


President (1999-2001)

Sama Bilbao y León

Sama Bilbao y León


Public Information Chair (1999-2005)

Nicole Faulk

Nicole Faulk


Treasurer (1999-2002)

Emmy Ross

Emmy Ross


Vice President (1999-2001)
Professional Development Chair (2001-2002)

Undine Shoop

Undine Shoop


Professional Development Chair (1999-2001)
President (2001-2002)
Past President (2002-2003)

Sonja Simmons

Sonja Simmons


Alumni Relations (1999-2002)

Mark McIntyre

Mark McIntyre

Canadian Affairs Chair (2000-2005)

Shannon Bragg-Sitton

Shannon Bragg-Sitton


Communication Chair (1999-2003)
Vice President (2003-2004)
President (2004-2005)
Past President (2005-2006)